dackelretten.org

Recent Older Mail Et la autoresse de cette petite journeaux??? Links! Oueblogs! D-Land

Gute Aktivisten
2003-02-05 @ 11:41 a.m.

Naomi Klein, No Logo

�Since 1995, RTS (Reclaim the Streets) has been hijacking busy streets, major intersections and even stretches of highway for spontaneous gatherings. In an instant, a crowd of seemingly impromptu partiers transforms a traffic artery into a surrealist playpen. Here�s how it works. <�> the RTS party�s venue is kept secret until the day of. Thousands gather at the designated meeting place, from which they depart en masse to a destination known only to a handful of organizers. Before the crowds arrive, a van rigged up with a powerful sound system is surreptitiously parked on the soon-to-be-reclaimed street. Next, some theatrical means of blocking traffic is devised � for example, two old cars deliberately crash into each other and a mock fight is staged between the drivers. Another technique is to plant twenty foot scaffolding tripods in the middle of the roadway with a brave lone activist suspended high on top � the tripod poles prevent cars from passing but people can weave between them freely; and since to knock the tripod over would send the person on top crashing to the ground, the police have no recourse but to stand by and watch the events unfold. With traffic safely blocked, the roadway is declared a �street now open�. Signs go up that say �Breathe,� �Car free,� and �Reclaim Space.� The RTS flag - � - goes up and the sound system begins to blast everything from the latest electronic offerings to Louis Armstrong�s �What a wonderful world.� Then seemingly out of nowhere comes the traveling carnival of RTSers: bikers, stilt walkers (Stelzenlaeufer), ravers, drummers. At previous parties, jungle gyms (Klettergerueste) have been set up in the middle of intersections, as well as giant sandboxes, swing sets, wading pools, couches, throw rugs (Teppichlaeufer) and volleyball nets. Hundreds of Frisbees sail through the air, free food is circulated and the dancing begins � on cars, at bus stops, on roofs and near signposts. <�> Like adbusters (Leute, die Werbung verfremden oder parodieren), RTSers have transposed the language and tactics of radical ecology into the urban jungle, demanding uncommercialized space in the city as well as natural wilderness in the country or on the seas. In this spirit, the most theatrical RTS stunt occurred when 10000 partiers took over London�s M41, a six-lane highway. Two people dressed in elaborate carnival costumes sat thirty feet above the roadway, perched on scaffolding contraptions that were covered by huge hoop skirts. The police standing by had no idea that underneath the skirts were guerilla gardeners (Guerilla gardeners: Leute, die nur aus Spass im oeffentlichen Raum irgendwas anpflanzen, Sonnenblumen, oder Erbsen, Tomaten, Hanfpflanzen oder so, in irgendwelchen leeren Pflanzschalen oder traurigen Gruenanlagen.) with jackhammers, drilling holes in the highway and planting saplings (Setzlinge) in the asphalt. <�>
The events take culture jammings philosophy of reclaiming public space to another level. Rather then filling the space left by commerce with advertising parodies, the RTSers attempt to fill it with an alternative vision of what society might look like in the absence of commercial control.�

He!

Ich meine, nicht, dass es nicht noch andere Dinge als den Mangel an autofreiem nichtkommerzialisiertem oeffentlichen Raum gaebe, die mich davon abhielten, mitten auf einer belebten Kreuzung einen lustigen Fandango zu tanzen, und nicht dass ich nicht Zahnschmerzen kriegte von karnevalistischen Veranstaltungen, Stelzenhuepfen und dergleichen, nicht dass ich nicht die alternative Vision von einer Gesellschaft von Rastafari-Globalisierungsgegnern, die ueberall Frisbeescheiben herumsegeln lassen, auch irgendwie ziemlich gruslig faende, aber trotzdem. Das ist ja eben auch mein PROBLEM, und andere Leute haben das vielleicht nicht, und das finde ich schon irgendwie gut, selbst wenn es nervt. So bin ich!

OKe Idee! Gute Aktivisten! Jugendliche, zu denen man Ja sagen kann!

Besonders romantisch finde ich auch diese guerilla gardeners. Die gibts hier in Ottawa auch, jedenfalls habe ich mal gehoert, wie einer im Radio interviewt wurde. Von ihren Aktivitaeten gesehen habe ich allerdings nichts. Das wundert mich auch nicht weiter. Selbst wenn sie hier in jede Ecke Sonnenblumenkerne hingestreut und Tomatenpflanzen eingebuddelt haetten: es ist hier im Sommer sehr heiss und trocken und es gibt eine Menge von bloeden Fressinsekten, Wurzelknabberern und Zeugs und es ist nicht einmal mir in meinem kleinen Hintergaertlein gelungen, irgendwas nennenswertes anzubauen, was nicht vertrocknet ist oder aufgefressen wurde, obwohl ich durchaus immer hingegangen bin und alles gepflegt habe und nicht so wie diese Gorillagaertner frueh morgens um fuenf nach der Party einen Sonnenblumenkern vielleicht irgendwo verscharrt habe und dann niemals mehr an die Stelle gekommen bin. War trotzdem bald alles futsch in meinem Gaertlein. Oh die Enttaeuschung.

Aber die Idee! Die Idee! Schoene Tomaten und Rankbohnen und Sonnenblumen ueberall und nicht diese trostlosen borstigen Straeucher und das haesslichen Rindengeschrappe, was sie immer in diesen Gruenanlagen haben. Aber dann natuerlich die Menschen. Und die Hunde. Jaja, die Menschen, sie haben nicht die moralische Integritaet, die fuer Tomaten und Erbsen erforderlich ist, das ist klar. Mal giessen, keine gruene Tomate abreissen, nicht rumtrampeln. Kann einem jeder erzaehlen, dass das eine von diesen Ideen ist, die NICHT GEHEN.

<<|>>

You might have missed...
Vogelbabyauferstehung - 2011-06-14
Kinder brauchen Ziegenboecke - 2011-05-17
Psychology 101 for the Toddler Set - 2011-02-10
Yesterday's news - 2011-02-03
Neuer Eintrag - 2010-11-16

Ruhmsuechtig!
Klickt dieses Banner und katapultiert mich an die Spitze dieser elitaeren Diary-Top-Ten!!
Koennte ich natuerlich auch selber tun, aber gerade eben habe ich diesen irrsinnigen Armkrampf...

Tagebuch Weblogs - Linkliste

� U.L., ohmanncanada.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.

Site Meter